CIPRA representatives:

Personal tools

  Search filter  


Five Econnect pilot regions officially rewarded at the Alpine Conference

Mar 30, 2011
On 8 March 2011 the Alpine Conference has officially recognised and rewarded eight Alpine regions - among which five Econnect pilot regions - for their exemplary work aiming at the creation of an alpine ecological network.
Image caption:
Handing over of the diploma to Berchtesgaden - Salzburg pilot region. © Yann Kohler
The XIth Alpine Conference in Brdo pri Kranju, Slovenia, honoured the efforts of these regions in improving ecological connectivity and implementing in that way article 12 of the Nature Protection protocol of the Alpine Convention.
Representatives from the regions received the diplomas in a festive atmosphere with some prominent guests such as the German State Secretary for Environment. The Alpine Conference also decided to transfer the presidency of the Platform from France - who had organised and promoted the rewarding of the regions - to Germany.
The eight pilot regions for ecological connectivity of the Alpine Convention (from south-west to north-east):
South-western Alps (National parc Mercantour/Nature parc Alpi Marittime, France/Italy)
French department Isère
Transboundary ecoregion Gran Paradiso - Mont Avic - Mont Emilius (Italy)
Ecoregion Alpe Veglia ed Alpe Devero (Italy)
Rhaetian triangle (Engadin/Southtyrol/Trentino/Tyrol, Switzerland/Italy/Austria)
Transboundary region Berchtesgaden - Salzburg (Germany/Austria)
Transboundary ecoregion Alpi Giulie (Italy)
Northern Limestone Alps region (Austria)
The nomination concept is available on (e, d, annexes also in f, i, s)